The Standard Punishments for Drug Crimes

We are all too familiar with drug crimes at the Lake of the Ozarks area, unfortunately. It's one of the top crime areas here and we have represented people who have been charged with possession, manufacturing and the sale of drugs such as methamphetamines, cocaine, marijuana, controlled prescription drugs, and drug paraphernalia. The punishments can vary depending on what drug was involved and what crime you were committing. Our criminal defense attorneys at the Lake of the Ozarks are here to give you a few examples of the standard punishments for drug crimes in Missouri. If you find yourself in this sort of unfortunate situation and need an experienced criminal defense attorney, call Phillips, McElyea, Carpenter, and Welch at 573-346-7231 for your free consultation.


Punishments for Heroin Crimes in Missouri


Source: https://statelaws.findlaw.com/missouri-law/missouri-heroin-laws.html

Trafficking, selling, or possessing heroin is illegal throughout the United States. Heroin crimes in the state of Missouri are considered felonies. See below for the different severities of felonies for heroin crimes.

Possession - Class C Felony
Sale - Class B Felony
Trafficking - Class A Felony

Source: https://www.criminaldefenselawyer.com/resources/criminal-defense/felony-offense/missouri-felony-class.htm

Class A Felony punishments include a minimum of ten years in prison and a maximum 30 years in prison.

Class B Felony punishments include a minimum of five years in prison and a maximum of 15 years in prison.

Class C Felony punishments include three to ten years in prison. You could also be fined up to $10000 of twice the amount of financial gain.

Punishments for Marijuana Crimes in Missouri


The possession, sale, trafficking, and distribution of marijuana are also illegal in the state of Missouri.

Source: http://norml.org/laws/item/missouri-penalties-2

Punishment for marijuana crimes varies depending on the amount and what you are doing with the drug. See below the standard punishments for possession of Marijuana.

Possession of marijuana up to 10 grams and it is your first offense is a Misdemeanor and you could be charged with a maximum fine of $500.

Possession of marijuana up to 10 grams and it is your second offense is also a Misdemeanor you could be incarcerated for 1 year and fined up to $2000.

Possession of marijuana anywhere from 35 grams to 30 kilograms is a Felony and you could be incarcerated for 7 years and have to pay a maximum fine of $10,000.


Criminal Defense Lawyers in Camden County 


At Phillips, McElyea, Carpenter and Welch, P.C., our attorneys know that every criminal defense case involving drugs is different. For every case, we take into account the individual needs of the client. We do that by:

  • Quickly getting information
  • Advising the client of his or her rights
  • Working to achieve the goals of the client

We know when to negotiate, when to go to trial, and when to be aggressive. For your free consultation, give us a call at 573-346-7231. For directions, visit our website at www.PMCWLaw.com.



Law Offices of Phillips, McElyea, Carpenter, & Welch, P.C.
The choice of a lawyer is an important decision and should not be based solely on advertising. When you need a knowledgeable attorney, we invite you to contact us to set up a consultation. Evening and weekend appointments are available. We have access to interpreters.

We accept Visa, MasterCard, and Discover.

85 Court Circle N.W., P.O. Box 559
Camdenton, MO 65020   GET A MAP
(573) 346-7231 - Telephone
(888) 236-2485 - Toll-Free
(573) 346-4411 - Fax

Like Us on Facebook

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Mardi Gras Pub Crawl (Don't Drink & Drive)

The 33rd Annual Fall Harbor Hop is Coming Up!

How to Keep Your Divorce From Becoming Even Worse